Snake Handlers Subject to Discriminatory Profiling at Airports

18 08 2006

New York, NY. In the wake of the recent “snake scare” on international flights between the United States and England, airport security personnel have become increasingly suspicious of snake handlers, often subjecting them to unnecessary and inconvenient search tactics. This past weekend, Roy Gundersen, a veteran snake trainer for the hit reality show “Fear Factor,” was detained for over four hours in Laguardia Airport. “When they saw me carrying Betsy [a ten-foot python from New Guinea], a squad of security guards shoved me into a cell and asked to see every snake I had on me. And the worst part is: this is the third time this sh*t has happened to me. What am I supposed to do? Put them in my carryon luggage?”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

